Some questions for my first engine

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
DavMecha

Some questions for my first engine

Post by DavMecha »

Hi all, I am going to build my first Stirling engine (Gamma type) which will be solar powered and which will drive an electric generator to charge mobile phones for instance.
Since I have learned about Stirling engines, I became very interested in this type of engine but never had a chance to design and build one myself till now :razz: Because I am quite new to the whole process of designing and building a practical Stirling engine prototype, I have some various related questions, so if anyone could me help me clarify those, I would be grateful :D

Here are the questions:

Q1: My solar collector will be either a Fresnel lens or a parabolic mirror, so I was wondering what minimum range of temperatures would be required on the hot side of a typical engine in order to power an electric generator (will be probably 5V)? I know that the higher the temp differential the better but the source temperature will be limited by the material being heated by the collector, so I am looking for an optimum range of source temperatures.

Q2: I am thinking of using stainless steel for the displacer cylinder and displacer piston and cast iron for the power cylinder and piston. Are there any better materials that can be used instead which will be easy to machine but also which will make the engine more efficient?