Heliostat Solutions for aiming parabolic reflector?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
pjarmstrong

Heliostat Solutions for aiming parabolic reflector?

Post by pjarmstrong »

Tucson, AZ is the perfect loc. to utilize the sun to heat a Stirling Engine. Has anyone researched the problem of manufacturing a heliostat device for a reasonable price? I'm new to metalworking but have been a problem solver, home auto mechanic, installer, etc. for 40 years.
Ian S C

Re: Heliostat Solutions for aiming parabolic reflector?

Post by Ian S C »

Hi pj, I was just thinking of this problem today (for a solar water heater. Here just north of the 45 parallel, there is quite a difference in sunshine hours winter to summer, so I was thinking about the different tracking speeds that would be required. I was wondering whether I should have continuos tracking, or should it move say hourly, if the latter it might be easy to set the different times, but I'll have to think a bit more on the subject. Might have to find an astronomer, they use tracking gear on their telescopes. Ian S C
Chriske

Post by Chriske »

Hi guys,

I'm into astronomy.
If you want to track the sun, a equatorial mount would help you a lot.
To be clear on the matter, speed summer or winter is the same. Only the position of the sun is a bit different in height.
For a few bucks you could buy such a mount. With a bit of luck there even is a motor to track the sun. If you'r a bit handy you could use the energy of a Stirling itself to provide the power to run that equatorial mount.
Using a reflective parabola the rays of the sun could be pointed at the engine's displacer cilinder . The power of these focused rays will give enough heat to run a small Stirling. I've seen some working models on youtube.
Hope it helps..

Chris
http://telescopemaking.be/forum
Mijn thuis is waar mijn draaibank staat...
nate

Post by nate »

Check out http://www.redrok.com/main.htm. This is all about heliostats.
Ian S C