Non-cylindrical hot air chamber?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
TomOliver

Non-cylindrical hot air chamber?

Post by TomOliver »

Hello. I am a newbie and this is my first post. Mechanically inclined all my life but not mathematical enough for engineering calculations. I hope my ignorance and ability to misunderstand do not prove frustrating to those kind enough to prove answers and suggestions.

Question 1: Understanding that a displacer is not a compression piston but a low pressure mover of air, is there an inherent design requirement for an air chamber to be cylindrical? Can it be, for example, a cube? (The question goes to materials used in the construction of a large, stationary engine.) The power cylinder and piston would be cylindrical and metal.

Question 2: What defines low temperature and high temperature? At what point in the cycle is that measurement taken? What temperature is considered the threshold of a high temperature engine?

Question 3: I understand the regenerator is not so much a conservation of fuel (which it can be) but a mechanism to increase power production by maximizing temperature deferential. Building this Stirling would have 2 primary ambitions, a large volume water pump *and* to harvest heat to help maintain consistent thermophilic (high temperature) digestion inside biomass digesters producing methane. I assume this heat harvesting would best be done on the cooling end of the air chamber; internal and external closed loop circulating water to cool the internal air and transfer it into the digesters. (Please correct me if I am wrong.) If this collection of heat (thus cooling the cool end) is efficient enough, is it considered a regenerator? Would there be need for or additional benefit from a regenerator within the displacer?