My first stirling... on the brink of failure. HELP!

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
matador

My first stirling... on the brink of failure. HELP!

Post by matador »

This is my first attempt at a stirling engine. I cant get it running and am very frustrated. I followed the plans on this site.
http://astro.sfasu.edu/courses/egr112/S ... rling.html
This is what it looked like when I first tried to get it running.
stirling.JPG
stirling.JPG (133.82 KiB) Viewed 9519 times
Then trying to get it running a made some modifications.
modified.JPG
modified.JPG (140.74 KiB) Viewed 9519 times
Ive tried everything I can think of. The crank runs very smooth, as does the displacer. Ive tried different things for flywheels and placed counter balance weights in a million different spots on the flywheel. The displacer is air tight, no lease in the pressure vessel. ive played with the elasticity of the diaphragm. Im hoping that my lack of knowledge and inexperience with stirlings is making me overlook something very simple. I need to get thing going!!! Can anyone please help
Junkie

Re: My first stirling... on the brink of failure. HELP!

Post by Junkie »

A few questions : Does anything at all happen when you heat it up ? Do the cranks turn just a little? What heat source are you using?
http://www.scraptopower.co.uk My web site, Stirling engines and AE stuff.
matador

Post by matador »

When I put heat to it nothing happens.. I use about 4 tea lite candles, with ice on top. I think heat might be my problem. I think my fire box or whatever its called, is to tall. The site that I found these plans say to make the displacer out of aluminum cans making an air tight cylinder, every other set of plans I see that are for can engines use steel wool. Could that make any difference??
matador

Post by matador »

and just so you know I took lots of pictures throughout the entire build, so if there is anything you need to see I can post pics.
matador

Post by matador »