if stirling engine is driven as reversed, does it work as cooler?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
ysj11211

if stirling engine is driven as reversed, does it work as cooler?

Post by ysj11211 »

I have a question for a long time.
Would the stirling engine work like a refrigerator if i add a motor to rotate the engine?

I'm not good at English but i've searched this forum for a long time and found out that at some occasions, stirling engine can be used as a refrigerater. (maybe...)

I'm wondering if it works, does it apply to any stirling engine?
I know that there is a lot types of stirling engine and i want to know if there's somebody who ran stirling engine as reversed( Not heat and see it rotates, But add it a motor and see if the temperature changes) and know the results.

there's two type i can buy: posted a image below.

[/img][/img]

I wonder if i run those engines with motor, the change at temperature exists.

I'm sorry if i broke any rule of this forum
Attachments
Screenshot 2023-06-09 4.18.09 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-06-09 4.18.09 PM.png (222.93 KiB) Viewed 12344 times
Screenshot 2023-06-09 4.07.46 PM.png
Screenshot 2023-06-09 4.07.46 PM.png (659.43 KiB) Viewed 12344 times
Bumpkin

Re: if stirling engine is driven as reversed, does it work as cooler?

Post by Bumpkin »

Yes those engines and others would pump heat if powered. It is not “backwards” though. The direction of the flow is the same whether it is pumped or pumping — like a water turbine, for instance. Long ago I got a similar question answered by forum member Ian: