Diving into the Stirling world - fist engine isn't running

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Stirbert Robling

Diving into the Stirling world - fist engine isn't running

Post by Stirbert Robling »

Hi,

i'm new here. For a longer time i'm interested in the stirling engine principle and now i deceided to really deal with this topic.

My first contact with stirling was with a cryo pump at work, which is actually a stirling engine "running backwards", driven by an electrical actuator and pulling heat energy from one side to the other. Currently i bought some books and i'm reading lots of documentations, papers and what to find on the internet. As an engineer my goal is besides some hobby tinkering, to understand the calculations and design rules.

Driven by curiosity i build my first LTD stirling engine. All dimensions and ratios are designed on the basis of gut feeling :big smile:

Well, it doesn't work! :laugh:

So i hope you could give me a little help to understand whats wrong.

Some dimensions and ratios:
  • Displacer diameter = 90 mm
  • Displacer height = 16 mm
  • Displacer travel = 16 mm
  • Expansion cylinder height = 34 mm
  • Circumferantial clearence = 1 mm
  • Piston diameter = 30 mm
  • Piston height = 40 mm
  • Piston travel = 4 mm
  • compression rato = ~1.2

I've tested it with glass of boiling water. The overall friction seems to be quite low, at least for me...
Attachments
Description3.png
Description3.png (392.92 KiB) Viewed 2901 times
Description2.png
Description2.png (401.56 KiB) Viewed 2901 times
Description1.png
Description1.png (393.51 KiB) Viewed 2901 times
Tom Booth

Re: Diving into the Stirling world - fist engine isn't running

Post by Tom Booth »

There are a few things that seem, - well I wouldn't say "wrong" necessarily. Not in agreement with my own design parameters.