Gretings

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
Todda323

Gretings

Post by Todda323 »

Greetings all. Complete noob here. I'm very excited to have found the forum. For quite a while I considered taking on a project and decided to bite the bullet. Please forgive me but at almost 50 I have found myself trying to re teach myself high school physics, which I did not do well, to muddle my way through a first time, beginning project. I found an interest in another poster's "glass engine"

https://stirlingengineforum.com/viewtopic.php?t=2045

I was curious if anyone would know how his displacer held up over time and if this design may produce enough torque to turn a light fan blade? I would be interested in replicating this with the possibility of eventually making a wood stove fan. Alternative displacer material is of interest. This seems to be a highly discussed topic but if there are ideas specific to this motor design I am quite interested. Of course I would not think placing this design directly on a wood stove would be ideal but I have been considering a few options to eliminate direct contact.

I have bumbled my way through some calculations, which I'm sure will have error. If anyone could please offer some input on how and what I may improve on it would be greatly appreciated.

I will counter sink the displacer cylinder 1/8" in to the top and bottom plate. Additionally I will allow for 1/4" on top and bottom for adjustment and so the displacer piston does not hit the plates.
I believe this will subtract 3/4" from my total usable travel of my displacer piston.
Measurements are in inches

overall displacer cylinder height-4.4
displacer cyl diameter-4.1
displacer cyl radius-2.05
displacer cyl circumference-12.874
total usable displacer cyl. height-3.65
displacer piston height-2.43"
displacer cylinder swept height-1.2"
total displacer cylinder volume-54.79
displacer cylinder swept volume-15.84
Todda323

Re: Gretings

Post by Todda323 »