solar air pump?

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
MC_Hamster

solar air pump?

Post by MC_Hamster »

Greetings, all.. newbie here with a bit of a project in mind and some questions I can't seem to find answers for that I wouldn't mind knowing the answers to before I just dive in and find out experimentally :)

Idea in mind is to make an LTD stirling that'll be able to perform just a tiny little amount of work. The idea came from wanting to make a bit of a vertical garden and keep it watered... looking around here and there, there's little PV solar pumps around that'll do, but I'd like to have a crack at something a little different.

The designs I've seen often make use of an air-lift pump powered by a small aquarium air pump to bring water from a reservoir up to a height to trickle-feed the garden. The air is injected into a column of water and as the bubbles rise in it, it creates a current which draws more water in from the bottom.. Not a huge amount of lift height normally available, but if you narrow down the pipe a little, people seem to do OK. There's adaptations of that I've seen referred to as a 'geyser pump' (commercially produced and otherwise) which create a small chamber to 'buffer' the air before releasing it in bursts, which I figure would be able to make better use of a lower input flow rate to still provide a lot of lift, just more sporadically.

Anyway.. I'm wanting to use some form of stirling design to power it. Needs to be LTD, needs to be self starting. I've mucked with a very limited fluidyne, but couldn't get it running - I'm assuming the aquarium hosing I was using was just too restrictive.. plus from what I've seen of it, they're really not that suited to either LTD or actually producing any sort of usable power, though I do like that they have a ready-built pumping action.