Displacer type stirling engine

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
DaveH

Displacer type stirling engine

Post by DaveH »

Hi all,

I'm new to building these engines and currenty trying to build a displacer type engine from a plan on the net. Instead of using a 10mm dia power piston, I'm thinking of using a cut down 14mm glass test tube which will obviously affect the other dimensions of the engine.

Does anyone have any more info on power cylinder to displacer cylinder volume ratios? I know the suggested ratio is 1.5/1 and I've been thinking of just changing the stroke of the power piston so that the swept volume is the same even though my power piston is larger, would this work? Have read other threads on the subject and it doesn't appear to be straight forward.

Thanks for reading,

Dave. :???:
SScandizzo

Post by SScandizzo »

Hi Dave,

Welcome to the forum and the Stirling engine building hobby! First off, glass syringes and test tubes are an excellent material for power cylinders not made on a lathe. Be sure your piston is air tight and that you do not use any form of lubricant in the cylinder.

To answer your question, I suspect that a larger diameter piston should be fine provided certain aspects are taken into consideration.

1) All other things being equal, a shorter stroke will generate a faster motion but lower force. This means that you will have to be very careful to reduce friction any way you can.

2) If this is your first engine, I'd suggest using a higher ratio than 1.5:1 for the volumes. These are the "magic" numbers for efficiency, but they are not necessarily the best in all cases. Notice that most "tin can" style motors have big displacer cylinders in proportion to their power cylinders (or diaphrams).

3) Larger displacer cylinders mean (usually) a larger heat source. So your engine may not run on a tea candle.

Regardless of your configuration, be sure to address the following as best you can: