One piston , one connecting rod new design stirling engine

Discussion on Stirling or "hot air" engines (all types)
sbny

One piston , one connecting rod new design stirling engine

Post by sbny »

Hi
I'm new to Stirling engines and also new to this forum
I have tried to make a can stirling engine but they have not worked yet and i'm trying to found out the problems and have found some of them :).
one of the problems I encountered was the leak of air from around displacere's connecting rod , so I thoughed of designing a motor which does not have this connecting road which comes out of cylinder , and finally I designed the motor you see in attached picture .
the power piston and displacer are connected together whit a shaft which can freely move in displacer but has two knobs .when power piston moves about 3/4 of the cylinder left knob sticks to displacer and moves it whit piston , so air will go to cold place , then flywheel will do next job and when piston comes to 1/3 of cylinder the displacer will go back and air will place in hot place and ... .
right now I dont have enough equipments to make this engine , So if some one has and makes this motor please post that in here .
Attachments
tarhe man.png
tarhe man.png (10.41 KiB) Viewed 4223 times
Ian S C

Re: One piston , one connecting rod new design stirling engine

Post by Ian S C »

Sorry sbny, I don't think it will work. If you want to build a motor in which the displacer is not connected to the crankshaft, look up the Ringbom engine.
Ian S C
sbny

Post by sbny »

Thanks Ian , I googled for ringbom engine and found it , but one question about it , how is timing between power piston and displacer set correctly ?
Ian S C

Post by Ian S C »